logo PORTAIL.WALLONIE.MUSEUM visiter voir apprendre informer

Royal Museums of Fine Arts oF Belgium - Meunier Museum

Carte wallonie


[en] Description

[en] Informations pratiques

Photo gallery

[en] Documentations [fr]

[en] Dans la région ... [fr]


Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique - Musée Meunier

Rue de l'Abbaye 59


32 (0)2 508 32 11



Art   Art   Art


[en] Description


At the very end of the 19th century, Constantin Meunier (1831-1905), whose talent was finally recognised internationally, had a house-studio built where he could live and work, in the rue de l'Abbaye, in Ixelles (Brussels). He lived there for the last five years of life. The house - with its important collection of more than 700 works - was acquired by the State in 1936 and opened to the public in 1939. This museum, which is now part of the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Brussels, has been renovated and, since 1986, visitors have been able to discover a choice of approximately 150 works and documents. It focuses in particular on the life of the master between 1875 and 1905, that second life in his own words, where he turned his talent to the social and industrial realities of Belgium, first of all through a series of paintings and drawings, then from 1885, through a return to sculpture, which consecrated his reputation as one of the greatest creative artists of the genre.

In addition to paintings such as Removal of a Broken Crucible, there are sculptures as important as The Hammerman, a world of plaster and bronze which made a deep impression on his era and continued to influence the realist movement during the first decades of the 20th century